I’ve Much to be thankful for

I’ve much to be thankful for.

Lately I’ve been tunnel-visioned into the job search. I’ve spent my days writing and revising cover letters and reading automated rejection emails. I’ve lost a lot during these months. The spring has felt alike a flow of fresh-water rejection. In it, passing from me in the water is my spunk and oftentimes my optimism. I’ve lost much of myself in what employers have deemed me as, or rather, what they have deemed me not as. I’ve forgotten what I know and oftentimes, what I hope for.

I’ve forgotten all I’ve to be thankful for. Because whether I choose to acknowledge it or not, in prayer or in my daily rising, I’ve much to be thankful for.

Each morning when I wake, my feet hit a carpeted, vacuumed floor. My body leaves the warmth of a queen-sized bed and is cooled by an air-conditioned two story home.

I stumble into the bathroom and turn on warm water to brush my teeth and wash my face with over-priced face wash.

I make my way downstairs to an overflowing pantry and refrigerator where I choose to eat, probably overeat, with overpriced, hipster coffee.

I’ve much to be thankful for.

Before checking my rejection responses, I remember what I submitted to them just recently: a polished resume and cover letter which highlights my division one college education, travel experiences and exposure to other cultures.

Next time, I reach for the refresh button in my inbox, may I remember the rare life I live with a loving family, safe from injustices, and free to pursue my education and career.

I’ve much to be thankful for.

As I did not rise from a small bed with my siblings and mother lying on the floor near me. I did not rise to a rooster crow as my feet hit the dirt floor of our sun-seeping home. I did not walk 3 miles to pump unclean, parasitic water to brush my teeth with sugarcane.

I did not dodge dangerous wildlife, nor did I dodge unsafe men looking to prey on me.

I did not pay my week’s wages for breakfast nearby after walking there barefoot. I did not cook over a fire in my school uniform that I will wear every day infused with smoke smell.

I did not go to my school and pay massive school fees that require my family to be indebted to others, to only arrive to find my teacher not in attendance. I did not find my lack of school supplies or curriculum discouraging. I did not return home to study after dark by the light of the moon.

I’ve much to be thankful for.

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment